How can I make routes read-only?

By default, all routes - whether unstarted, started, or complete - are fully editable to allow last-minute order or proof of delivery addition, driver changes, route re-optimization, etc. To "lock" routes so that they cannot be directly edited, they can be archived from your Routes page.


  1. From the Routes Page, use the checkboxes to select any route(s) you'd like to make read-only.
  2. Click the More actions button (three dots icon) from the menu that appears in the upper right-hand corner of the table, and select Archive routes:

Routes page with three routes ticked and their checkboxes outlined, and the More actions menu open with Archive routes outlined

Once archived, individual routes will be placed in a read-only mode and will display a unique banner on the Route page to indicate this:

Archived route's page with a yellow Route is archived banner saying edits are restricted until the route is unarchived

To review routes that have been archived, click the Add filter button at the top of the Routes Page, and select Archived - this will give you the option to display just Archived routes, just Unarchived routes, or All routes to display both types. When viewing All, routes that have been archived will display with a grey background (see the middle three routes below) to differentiate them from unarchived routes:

Routes page with the archive filter open and set to All (other choices Archived and Unarchived), and three archived routes shown with a grey background

For full details on working with archived routes, see our route archiving support documentation.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.